top of page

R E V I E W ↪ The Red Zone by Amie Knight

Updated: Jun 2, 2019


 

THE RED ZONE


They say the red zone is the hardest place to score. But for me, those last twenty yards were my sweet spot. They didn't call me Lukas "Last Minute Lucy" Callihan for nothing. I was at the top of my game...until life sacked me harder than any linebacker ever could. Losing my mom was devastating and left me as the sole person responsible for my little sister.

Taking care of Ella and juggling my career was like playing the hardest game of my life.  My only saving grace was Scarlett Knox, Ella's sexy, red-headed, no-nonsense teacher.  She loved Ella. She hated me.  She thought I sucked at this parenting thing, and she wasn’t wrong.  But whenever she was around I got the same earth-shattering, heart-stopping feeling I did when I was only twenty yards from the goal line. She made me feel like I was back in the red zone, a place I’d never fumbled. Until now. 


NOW AVAILABLE

 
"I'll be an old cat lady, but without the cats because I'm allergic." Jesus. That was so, so sad.
 


 

AS THE ONE WHO'D BROKEN MY TEENAGE HEART AND STOLEN MY FIRST KISS.

 

↪ R E V I E W ↩


This is not my first read by the author but a first official review for sure!! The blurb is what caught my attention, along with the cover plus I have read her books before and remembered her writing style.


This was one of the sweetest reads!! Gushing over how sweet, the hero Luk was a dream bookboyfriend honestly. Big, handsome football player that cares for his little sister with autism after a horrific incident occurs. And the heroine Scarlett was equally amazing, the red head sweetest teacher!!


Book quote: "...But know this, Scarlett. I want those lips. And I'll have them. If it's the last fucking thing I do."


This is a story of second chance romance where the hero and heroine know each other from before but there is a twist, it's a sweet one too. There are flashbacks in this story and perfectly placed and even sweeter. "That's all it had taken for my poor fourteen-year-old heart to be claimed. A boy asking to be my friend and a simple shoulder nudge."


Reason why I didn't not give it a full 5 star is that, at the end-ish it felt a little rushed to me, don't get me wrong still fantastic to read I guess because this was a slow-burn to where it takes them a little time to connect (physically) maybe that's why it felt it to me. Other than that, I loved the story, yes it's the sexy NFL quarterback and the nerd beautiful and sassy teacher, but twists and turns...you think you have it paged out, but lots of action, surprises, romance and so so so much sweetness! I would even rate this under a Rom-Com too..lot's of fun to read!

 

Second Chance Friends-To-Lovers Sports Romance / Rom-Com

Rating:★★★★ ⋆

Steamy: ♨️ ♨️ ♨️

Recommended? ☑ Absolutely!!

↪𝓗 𝓪 𝓹 𝓹 𝔂 - 𝓡 𝓮 𝓪 𝓭 𝓲 𝓷 𝓰↩

 

0 comments
bottom of page