top of page

BOOK REVIEW ❀ Tripping On A Halo by Alessandra Torre


 

"I'm not creepy. I'm...watchful." -Autumn

It’s really hard to save a guy’s life when he keeps running from you.

You might be asking yourself why I’m waving an inflatable penis in the air and screaming at the top of my lungs. If I took time to explain, Declan Moss would get hit by a bus.

Let me back up. I didn’t ask for this. I was perfectly happy—and perfectly sane—before I was tasked with keeping Declan Moss alive. It was a thankless job until the moment that my panties dropped and his delicious smirk found his way in between my thighs.

Hello, toe-curling ecstasy. Goodbye, professional boundaries. And suddenly, there’s a new danger to avoid: the falling of my heart.

 

Text's With Ansley


ANSLEY: My baking attempt has turned into a clusterfuck. I've got a ruined pie for you pig if you want it.


I smiled and opened her second text.


ANSLEY: I cannot believe my life has turned into the sort of situation where I am sending texts like this. Why am I trying to cook pies? And WHY DO YOU HAVE A PIG?


There was a series of emojis that combined barfing, eye rolls and lots of facepalming. I hit reply.


ME: I don't expect you to understand the finer things in life. You own a jetski for piglet's sake.


Her response came quick.


ANSLEY: Don't spit pig slang at me or I swear to God, I'll stop stocking the house with Sunkist.


I snorted in response, and I swear on Jesus, that wasn't intended to be a pun.


ontday ebay tupidsay.. Ouyay ovelay unkistsay ootay.


I sent the pig-Latin, then sat up in bed, kicking the covers loose and looking at Mr. Qoins.

"You in the mood for pie?"

 

MR. OINKS


 

" I don't want Tinder, or to screw Jenn from the reception desk, or to go out and get drunk with a bunch of sorority girls you saw on Instagram. I want to eat a fucking cupcake and sit with Autumn, and tell her what a complete dipshit you are."


 

REVIEW


First off I'd like to say that this is NOT my first or last book by Alessandra Torre. Not an ARC, but I was blessed to be able to have the paperback. Nothing better than holding a book!


I wish I was more forewarned about this story, because then at least I would have had tissues ready! WOW is all I can say, this...this is not what I expected to read & it was mind-blowing!


This is a story of a man named Declan Moss & a very quirky, beautiful and funny woman named Autumn Jones. They did not meet in the traditional way, as in didn't meet for the first 6 months at all.


When Autumn loses a family member, whom she believes was her responsibility to watch out for...she experiences a...how should i word it...interesting feeling when around Declan. When she sets it in her mind that, it was meant to be, where she was meant to be that day...she goes on a quest to be the best guardian angle ever.


When Declan finally finds out who his mystery lady is, he is surprised to realize she is nothing like what he and his best friend Nate have been calling her.


When they both meet and realize that the sparks between one another can not be ignored, they don't intent to do what they do, do! Ever since after, everything kind of went south & not the way. When Declan takes Autumn on a trip, and the worst thing that can happen...happens. (GET YOUR TISSUES READY!) I will not spoiler alert you, but from this point on YOU MUST READ! There are no works to word it without giving away even a hint. Let's just say, I stayed up till 2am to finish this and YES i cried in bed...so heartbreaking, God!


Favorite Quote:

"In that moment, I didn't want to protect Declan Moss. I wanted him to want me. To take my heart as his own. I wanted to feel, and be unafraid, and tho trust in him to protect me."


FIVE STAR & HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!


H A P P Y R E A D I N G!

 


0 comments
bottom of page