top of page

2 BOOK REVIEWS -> Collision & Avoidance by Kristen Granata


 

COLLISION

Merritt Adams was used to taking care of herself. With her mother's selfish abandonment, and her father's shocking suicide, she is convinced that nobody will ever stick around for long. However, after she is mysteriously rescued from a fiery crash, Merritt needs to learn how to accept help, and love - even when it comes from an unexpected source. Trying to create a new life for herself will be difficult, and so will resisting the charms of someone she swore she would never show interest in. In addition to the buzz surrounding Merritt's tragic headlines, everyone is talking about the charismatic Chase Brooks' return home after spending two years in California aspiring to become a rock star. What people don't know is the real reason why he had to leave his dreams behind. Saddened by his return, Chase is even more saddened to see how broken and alone his childhood classmate, Merritt, is. Two sad souls could be good for each other, couldn't they? Merritt isn't so sure... and after she finds out who pulled her from the mangled car that night, her life will be changed forever.

 

AVOIDANCE

After the shocking return of her mother, Merritt Adams is faced with emotions that she had buried deep inside of herself for almost a decade. While the love of her life is busy fulfilling his dreams, Merritt is left to her own devices. Searching for solace in all the wrong places, her avoidant behaviors spiral out of control. If she doesn’t learn how to take responsibility for her actions, she could end up on rock bottom – alone.

T.J. Cutler is an MMA fighter who knows all too well what happens when one tries to run away from his problems. He may be the only person who can get through to Merritt, having lived through his own nightmarish childhood. T.J. can teach Merritt how to fight against her demons, but she needs to prove that she is committed to following his rules.

Life is full of choices, and Merritt needs to start making the right ones. It could mean the difference between life and death.

Avoidance is the continuation of Merritt's story from Collision. Topics include family, love, romance, loss, death, tragedy, depression, anxiety, suicide, alcoholism, fighting, tattoos, and overcoming struggle.

 

 

BOOK 1 - REVIEW


This is my first time reading any books from this author. I very much appreciate copies that I can read, thank yo Kristen Granata.


Reading anything new weather it's a new book or author, or both in this instance, I get a little skeptical. Not knowing what to expect, both excites and scares me. Not saying that I don't read books from author's i do know and get this way, but with THE NEW comes new senses that come out during reading.


This is a tragic story of a girl, well turned woman who is in the notion that nothing and no one every sticks around. After enduring the incidents and living the life she has, she is convinced that nothing better can happen to her.


After the tragic horrible accident (this part was insanely good to read!), she is trying to learn how to LIVE again. When Chase returns to town, she does her best to resist him and his charms. Also, i LOVE Shelly, she is the best friend who is in a long-distance relationship and living through Merritt and new new-found life. Chase barges back in town and into Merritt's life.


I enjoyed the story line, lots of heart, humor, all the feelings and hope.


I am rating this a 4.5 and recommend reading this book!


H A P P Y R E A D I N G

 

BOOK 2 - REVIEW


Book 2 picks up right up from ending of Book 1. I L O V E D the sequel! My gosh, I was up on the sofa reading as fast as my eyes would let me. Meaning I was trying not to read ahead then come back, #wondering eyes!


I love that the characters are NOT PERFECT, flawed in their own best way. The realistic way anyone can relate to the story line and characters is off the charts.


I hate the fact that I can relate to Merritt, any woman really. When your greatest battle is, with yourself! Time heals? In this book you will realize that time only prolongs the memory, sometimes it does not heal...ever. This is a great example of struggle and overcoming. I think my absolute fav was the ending, I had to go back a few pages and re-read while reading because I didn't want to miss a thing!


5 STARS and highly recommended to read BOOK 1 before diving into this beauty.


H A P P Y R E A D I N G!

 



0 comments
bottom of page