top of page

BOOK REVIEW -> Promise Her by Andrea Johnston


 

Coming: 4.28.2019

PROMISE HER


No one knows the secret I’ve buried inside.

When the unimaginable happens, the past doesn’t matter. Only the future. Only this baby.

The grief and guilt are overwhelming, especially when I find comfort in my late husband’s best friend. Taylor Cain isn’t known for letting others in, but he’s here for me in a way no one else is.

Even though I’m playing with fire, his arms are the only place I feel safe.

*** Life can change in the blink of an eye.

When I lose my best friend, I bury my own grief to be there for his pregnant widow.

Somehow between vowing to protect Scarlett Gilbert and her baby to holding her in my arms, I developed feelings for her. Feelings I question are within my right. Having her in my life makes me feel alive for the first time.

Between her commitment to his memory and respect for my best friend, we fear judgment for the love we share.

Some say promises are made to be broken, but when I promise her my heart, I intend to keep it.


GOODREADS - AMAZON - PAPERBACK - AUTHOR WEBSITE

 
"Baby, you cannot use the words 'sexy' and 'boobs' in the same sentence. i'm only a man."
 

R E V I E W


This is a NEW to me author & books! I was so excited to get a chance to read this, I've heard great things about it already and the author!


This was nothing I expected. I assumed and boom was surprised. It's a beautiful story of friends-to-lovers, small town, military romance that will kick it up!! The hero is very strong, swoon worthy and lovable! The heroine is a surprise to me, to be honest. It's just not the traditional sense therefore I hung onto every page and every word. I love when expect then it hits you differently and now you're hooked. This book was definitely a hook for me!


After the outcome of a tragedy, Taylor gets it in his head that he has a duty to do and a promise to uphold. Scarlett may not have known of before but the present is the present and sadly she is the only one out of the two living in it. With being as pregnant as she is at that time, you would think she would be happy (happy to an extent) but she is feeling like she is going to lose Taylor too. She can't understand her feeling or put them together, so what does a very pregnant woman do at that time? Sit on the floor in her bedroom listening to sappy love song, of course, duhh! What breaks my hear tin this is HER family, I mean I can understand maybe to a point but my heart really breaks for her because of them!


It's a slow burn for me and the agony of what if...but I loved it because of it! I am rating this book a 5 PLUS PLUS & HIGHLY RECOMMEND READING!


H A P P Y - R E A D I N G



0 comments
bottom of page