top of page

BOOK REVIEW -> Hook Shot by Kennedy Ryan


 

COMING: 3.28.2019

HOOK SHOT (HOOPS #3)


Divorced. Single dad. Traded to a losing squad. Cheated on, betrayed, exposed. My perfect life blew up in my face and I'm still picking up the pieces. The last thing I need is her. A wildflower. A storm. A woman I can't resist. Lotus DuPree is a kick to my gut and a wrench in my plans from the moment our eyes meet. I promised myself I wouldn't trust a woman again, but I've never wanted anyone the way I want Lo. She's not the plan I made, but she's the risk I have to take.

A warrior. A baller. The one they call Gladiator. Kenan Ross charged into my life smelling all good, looking even better and snatching my breath from the moment we met. The last thing I need is him. I’m working on me. Facing my pain and conquering my demons. I've seen what trusting a man gets you. I. Don't. Have. Time. For. This. But he just keeps coming for me. Keeps knocking down my defenses and stealing my excuses one by one. He never gives up, and now...I'm not sure I want him to.


 


 

"It Never Entered my Mind' by Miles Davis. It's my favorite song of all time."

 
"I know it sounds crazy since we don't know each other that well, and haven't known each other long, but I'm only this way with you." -Kenan
 

Button,

I told you I hate texting.

Unfortunately, lotus flowers don't live long cut off from the soil they're planted on. This loses some impact knowing they'll be wilted by the time you come to my place for dinner tonight. Oh. Would you come to my place for dinner tonight? I'd like yo see you. I can pick you up from work. You can just text yes...or no...and what time I should come get you.


"Let me see your face. Let me hear your voice for your voice is sweet and your face is lovely." -- Song of Solomon 2:14 -- Kenan
 

"I want to be more than friends," I whisper over his lips. "Open your eyes and don't look away."


 

R E V I E W


Kennedy Ryan has been a favorite of mine for a while now & I was so SO EXCITED when i got accepted to receive an ARC of this book! GAH! So, happy I did because I couldn't put the thing down!! Safe to say NOT my first read by the amazing Kennedy!!


Lotus is a ...free spirit if you will & Kenan can be only described as a six foot two tall glass of chocolate milk...with whip cream! I'm sorry BUT I'm not sorry, it's true. I thought i was going to slightly sequel when he was described! Their first kiss was something only described in romance books (ironic isn't it) but seriously, it was beautiful, sensual and like a out of body experience. GAH, perfect!!


I love how Kenan is so rough and broody looking but a big teddy bear when ti comes to his daughter. He is caring, responsible, down to earth but oh so very hurt. Nothing worse than being cheated on but being cheated on PUBLICLY. I can only imagine how that would feel, to have your dirty laundry out for everyone to judge. I hate Bridget and a stupid name for a stupid woman!


Lotus, really tries to figure out this dilemma she is...feeling. One thing i am proud of her for doing is, seeking help. Can't be easy to admit it out loud. Aside form that, what she is feeling for Kenan is still a blur for her. Their chemistry of off the charts (no pun intended) but seriously, it's beautiful. When two broken souls find a healing one...it's a ying and yang!!


In a world where one is well known and everything is usually out in the open and the other is a free spirit living life how she though was the happy way, secrets, lies and assumptions is usually a deal breaker. In this case, O U C H! ALSO, B E W A R E of Bridgett, OH MY GOD can she...i can;t hate her any more. There is a way of being a cold heart -B but she takes it to a whole new level. Wow, no wonder single dad's have a hard time moving on in the first place! *face palm* and I don't only mean because of Lotus and Kenan but because of her beautiful daughter! IDIOT!!


To say that I was expecting this story is an understatement, no way did I think once the secret came out that it would be that. Boy, I was feeling all kinds of everything. I don't usually have triggers of any kind, but this was a close one because it was so horrible yet symbolic. Everything in this book is symbolic, and has meaning if you read between the lines. ALL THE FEELS, for every scene, and each character was THEIR OWN. That's what I love. It was and i wasn't all about Basketball, another thing I enjoyed, went very well with the book! Really a spectacular read!!


I am rating this a 5 PLUS PLUS PLUS & HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! Definitely on my TOP 2019 MUST READ LIST!


H A P P Y - R E A D I N G

 

0 comments
bottom of page